Types of provincial coinage
The coinage may be divided into five groups, conventionally known as:
1. City coinages
2. Alliance coinages
3. Coinages of provincial leagues (koina)
4. Provincial issues
5. Coinage of client kings
The ‘provincial coinage’ consisted of gold (unusually), silver and, mostly, bronze coinage. The silver coins were produced in a number of provinces – Crete, Asia, Lycia, Cappadocia, Syria and Egypt. For the most part they were made in local denominations, and their circulation was mostly restricted to their province of issue.

No products were found matching your selection.

Go to Top